Hermeto Pascoal
"Slaves Mass"

Technical Information
  • Artist: Hermeto Pascoal
  • Title: "Slaves Mass"
  • Recording Label: WARNER RECORD
  • Company #: 36.021
  • Made in: Brazil
  • Year: 1977
  • Sound Reproduction Format: STEREO
  • Jacket Format: Gatefold
  • Jacket Material: Plain Paper Jacket
  • Media: Vinyl Records 12" LP
  • Playing Speed: 331/3 RPM
  • Number of tracks: 7 tracks
Personnel & Credits
  • Produced by: Airto Moreira and Flora Purim.
  • Arrangements by: Hermeto Pascoal.
  • Musicians: Hermeto Pascoal, Flora Purim, Airto Moreira, Ron Carter, Alphonso Johnson, Chester Thompson, Raul de Souza, Laudir de Oliveira, Hugo Fattoruso and David Amaro.
  • Songs written by: Hermeto Pascoal.
  • Cover Photo by: Tom Copi.
  • Back Photo by: Joel Sussman.
  • Inside Art by: Ruy Pereira.
Tracking List

Side A

1. TACHO (Mixing Pot)
3. CHORINHO PRA ÊLE (That Waltz)
4. CANNON (Dedicated to Cannonball Adderley) 

Side B

1. ESCUTA MEU PIANO ( Little cry for Him)
2. AQUELA VALSA (Just Listen)
3. GELEIA DE CEREJA (Cherry Jam)

More description and Photos

Slaves Mass by Hermeto Paschoal, is considered a masterpiece on Brazilian instrumental music and Jazz scene, although it is not a strictly Jazz album. Hermeto plays flutes, recorder, soprano sax, 12-string guitar, Nylon acoustic guitar, Fender Rhodes Electric piano, Piano, clavinet and weird inventions, such like: Pig, fans, bottles, tea pot, etc. 


Mixing Atonalismo, Jazz-Rock, Chorinho, Maracatu, Baião, Xote, Hermeto in this album create your mature style. Playing Brazilian musical styles as Samba, Maracatu, Choro, Baião in a different way and adding new melodic sonic atmospheres to his melody lines (Dorian mode, northeastern modes, Jazz scales, and target notes improvisation approach), Hermeto recreate with a new Brazilian music. This album is a sturdy mark of his genial music. 

Brazilcult.com © 2022. All rights reserved.

Brazilcult.com © 2022. All rights reserved. BrazilCult.com